Suscipere et finire
Photo: mawa design

Suscipere et finire

… In 2017, mawa celebrated its 40th anniversary as a company. At 40, one is wise. All the more, when you’ve worked continuously for 40 years and crossed the border to the 6th decade of your life.
A year later in Hongkong, overlooking the China sea, I spoke with Sebastian Brink about the future of mawa. To design the future, which had become clear to me over the years, meant we needed to be accompanied professionally. After lengthy research, I finally found a suitable partner in Munich, the Aquin & Cie AG company, who were able to support me in the search for a successor.


2020, the year of the most difficult decisions. How will mawa continue into the future? Which way should I go? What will it mean? And how can I prepare mawa for a lasting future and pass it on successfully?


mawa is active around the world and has grown continuously.
My friend and companion from the start, Nils Holger Moormann, advised me to build a second manufacturing hall, which was completed in July 2021. The construction projects, however, were not only physical in nature – at the same time, the Berlin agency Realgestalt helped to define a new brand identity.


Against this backdrop, in 2021, I decided to transfer mawa to PROLED Holding GmbH, while retaining a minority stake and remaining as CDO at mawa.

I am very pleased to welcome two new and extremely competent colleagues on board in management. Peter Gawlik, as CEO and experienced lighting expert, will bring his industry knowledge in the area of distribution and marketing. Rounding out the management team of three, Birgit Weinländer will bring her extensive experience as a financial manager to the function of COO/CFO. She will be responsible for all financial, administrative, and technical production concerns.



Peter Gawlik, Martin Wallroth und Birgit Weinländer

I am very excited for all staff members and employees who have accompanied me, some for decades, to have found a solution that offers each and every one of them a high degree of security and future with the company.



At this point I would like to thank everyone who has accompanied me until now, and who will accompany me in the future. A very special thank you to my family, to the entire mawa team, and especially to Tina Krauß, who assisted me with this difficult process from the very beginning.



Alea iacta est.


mawa stays mawa – that’s mawalous!



Warmest regards,

Martin Wallroth

 

Photo (from left to right):
Richard Walch, Martin Diepold/Rat für Formgebung, Ina Zabel

Foto: mawa design

Suscipere et finire

… 2017 feierte mawa 40-jähriges Firmen-Jubiläum. Mit 40 ist man weise. Erst recht, wenn man 40 Jahre kontinuierlich gearbeitet und die Grenze zum sechsten Lebensjahrzehnt überschritten hat.
Ein Jahr später in Hongkong, mit Blick auf das chinesische Meer, sprach ich mit Sebastian Brink über die Zukunft von mawa. Die Zukunft zu gestalten, das war mir über die Jahre klar geworden, heißt, sich professionell begleiten zu lassen. Nach langen Recherchen habe ich schließlich einen passenden Partner, die Firma Aquin & Cie. AG in München, gefunden, die mich in der Nachfolgefindung unterstützte.

2020, das Jahr der schwierigsten Entscheidungen. Wie geht es mit mawa weiter? Für welchen Weg entscheide ich mich? Was bedeutet das? Und wie kann ich mawa zukunftsfähig und nachhaltig in andere Hände geben?

mawa ist weltweit aktiv und kontinuierlich gewachsen.
Freund und Urwegbegleiter Nils Holger Moormann riet, eine zweite Produktionshalle zu bauen, die jetzt im Juli 2021 fertig gestellt wurde. Die Bauvorhaben waren aber nicht nur physischer Natur – währenddessen unterstützte mich die Berliner Agentur Realgestalt, den Markenauftritt neu zu definieren.

Auf dieser Grundlage habe ich mich 2021 dazu entschieden, mawa in den Verbund der PROLED Holding GmbH zu übergeben, an der ich mich rückbeteiligt habe und bei mawa als CDO an Bord bleibe.

Ich freue mich sehr darüber, dass wir in der Geschäftsführung zwei neue und überaus kompetente Kollegen begrüßen dürfen. Peter Gawlik wird als CEO und erfahrener Lichtexperte seine Branchenkenntnisse in den Bereichen Vertrieb und Marketing einbringen. Als Dritte im Bunde komplettiert Birgit Weinländer als routinierte Finanzmanagerin die neue Führungsriege in ihrer Funktion als COO/CFO. Sie verantwortet alle finanziellen, administrativen und produktionstechnischen Belange.

Peter Gawlik, Martin Wallroth und Birgit Weinländer

Ich freue mich auch darüber, dass ich für alle Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter, die mich teilweise über Jahrzehnte begleitet haben, eine Lösung gefunden habe, die jedem Einzelnen ein hohes Maß an Sicherheit und Zukunft bietet.

An dieser Stelle bedanke ich mich bei allen, die mich auf diesem Weg begleitet haben und zukünftig begleiten werden. Der besondere Dank gilt meiner Familie, dem gesamten mawa Team und vor allem Tina Krauß, die mir von Anfang an bei diesem schwierigen Prozess zur Seite stand.

Alea iacta est.

mawa bleibt mawa – that’s mawalous!

Herzliche Grüße,
Martin Wallroth

 

Foto (von links nach rechts):
Richard Walch, Martin Diepold/Rat für Formgebung, Ina Zabel